Testimonials - London Academy of Trading

Garen Krikorian

Economics and Social Sciences student at Bocconi University

2018

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

I chose LAT because I was searching for a credible and recognised program that wouldn’t necessarily teach me the ‘fast way to make money’, but the essentials of the financial world instead. I wanted to learn how everything works and where it takes place, which is absolutely necessary for any person wanting to participate and engage within the industry.

Which programme did you study?

I took the Level 5 Diploma in Applied Financial Trading.

What was the programme like?

It was quite a tough course, but the teaching material gave me everything I needed to prepare for my exams/simulations.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

With LAT, I wanted to learn the basics of the financial world and trading. I wanted to understand how the trades take place, how leverage works, how positions are calculated and how to create a well developed and disciplined trading plan.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

I have learnt how to read and understand financial charts and create a trading plan.

What are you doing now?

I am currently studying economics and social sciences at Bocconi University Milano.

How has LAT helped with your career development?

LAT gave me the means to trade in Forex and get first-hand experience in the financial market at a young age.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

Definitely.

Thierry Kalonji

Group Internal Auditor at HeidelbergCement

2018

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

I chose LAT because of the online ratings about the quality of financial trading trainings in London.

Which programme did you study?

I studied the blended option of the Level 5 Diploma in Applied Financial Trading.

What was the programme like?

Very interesting. When I started, I was ignorant of how the financial markets worked but LAT made it simple for me to understand through this program.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

My goal was to understand the financial markets to create a second source of income in the short term and to change my career to professional trader in the long term.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

I have mostly learnt about trading psychology as well as the fundamentals of technical analysis.

What are you doing now?

Now I am trading on my own and starting to invest wisely to create second source of income while working as auditor for a DAX company in Germany.

How has LAT helped with your career development?

I learned a lot about financial markets and my trading strategies skills improved too, I now feel well prepared to move to trading as a professional career.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

Of course, I would recommend it to everyone I know.

Grant Simey

Analyst, ITC Squawk

June 2017

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

Was the only course that came with an accredited qualification & had very good reviews online.

Which programme did you study?

3-month full time

What was the programme like?

Great, got what I wanted from it which was a good understanding of technical analysis.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

Trade by myself to gain a primary income.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

Technical Analysis & Risk management

What are you doing now?

With many thanks to Ahmet, I shall be a voice on the ITC squawk service.

How has LAT helped with your career development?

Helped me define exactly what I want to do and put me down the right path with a vocational course on the CV to help out.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

Yeah for sure!

Claudia Monterde

Funds Data Analyst, Bloomberg

May 2017

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

I choose LAT because I have always had an interest for the financial markets and was very curious about trading but mostly because it is the only program that allowed me to learn to trade based on both technical and practical approach, whilst being directly exposed to the financial markets.

Which programme did you study?

I did an internship while attending the 3-months level 5 diploma.

What was the programme like?

Taught by professionals with real expertise, the programme is very well constructed and easily adapted for students with different backgrounds or no prior knowledge of finance. The programme is tailored for each student in such a way that it allows every student to develop their own trading strategy and fulfil all their potential.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

The aim of attending this course was to learn to trade in a practical and real-time manner, to trade for myself and have an extra form of income. However, after finishing the course, I realised that I also gained the skills to pursue a professional career in trading.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

The most important thing I learned was the psychology behind every trade and the behaviour of the financial markets. It also taught me how to identify the main indicators to make real profits from my trades while managing my risks to reduce my losses.

What are you doing now?

I am currently a Funds Data Analyst at Bloomberg LP.

How has LAT helped with your career development?

Even with a background in finance, LAT taught me to analyse the financial markets in a very special way, focusing on identifying what matters the most, and how the news is important to make the markets evolve and behave.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

Undoubtedly!

Akif Din

Trader, Acenya Traders

Feb 2017

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

I chose LAT because it had a variety of courses and provided a lot of material alongside its course. It was the best-rated school in the UK, and it was recommended from the reviews I read. LAT was the only school I read about that provided an accredited course.

Which programme did you study?

Level 5 Diploma in Professional Applied Financial Market Trading - 3-month course

What was the programme like?

I found the programme hugely beneficial. It has been the best investment I have made. The course content and how it was taught was brilliant-some of the best teaching I have come across. The structure of the course was perfect. It has been thought-out and this makes it easy to understand, learn and follow through with the course.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

To trade part-time and look for a new job within the financial markets industry. If not, then I wanted to begin trading full time, independently.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

The main things I learned was to:
1. Trade with the trend, and not pick the small retracements
2. Trading psychology and discipline
3. Risk management
4. Learning how financial markets work and what affects them

What are you doing now?

I work for a proprietary trading firm. I am at my final stage of preliminary training, moving over to managing a company account in January 2018. I also trade my own capital part-time.

How has LAT helped with your career development?

LAT has helped me get a job within the industry (more importantly within the same sector-markets) by giving me vast amounts of knowledge. It has provided me with a qualification, which allows employers to see that I am qualified and that I have an understanding, knowledge and the practical experience of financial markets and trading.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

Yes. I would recommend LAT to anyone, regardless of what background they come from.

Gregi Rossignolo

Fixed Income & Derivatives , Natixis Bank

Sept 2016

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

I wanted to have a full introduction to professional trading and technical analysis techniques. This course looked to be the best option to me both because it's supervised by one of the top business school in UK and it's officially recognized by the ABE.

Which programme did you study?

I've attended the Professional Financial Trading Programme

What was the programme like?

The programme is well planned and settled through a three months period. The students are continuously supported by teachers, who are available at all times. I think what you can see in these three months is very close to what you can find in a proper trading room. Overall I'm happy to have participated and mainly to have invested time and money in this course, which is in the end the most important thing.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

I was a Master student in Finance at Bocconi University in Milan. For those like myself who are keen to work in Capital Markets it's not easy at all to get hired from banks or hedge funds. These firms are not happy if they just see good grades and a smart thinker. They want to see passion for the job and a full commitment. This course allowed me to show both of them and besides to have experienced the trading room life for three months. I currently work as Fixed Income and Derivatives Sales at Natixis in Milan and this course was fundamental for me to be hired.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

I already had a full understanding of financial markets. Yet, one thing is studying markets and know how they behave, one thing is taking choices reacting to its movements. Personal self-control is the key. During this course I've learnt to properly interpret financial markets, taking decisions through my interpretation and trading psychology.

What are you doing now?

I'm currently working at Natixis, a French investment bank. I'm Fixed Income and Derivatives Sales for Italy

How has LAT helped with your career development?

Even though I'm not working as a trader it still helped me a lot showing to my employers I have strong passion for finance. They know I can read market's events and interpret them. Technical analysis also helps me to spot under/overvalued assets we may trade.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

Absolutely, this school is the first investment you can do before trading

Craig Paton

Sales Manager, FxPro

April 2016

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

The decision to choose an educator was very hard considering the market place and how many educator providers there are now. The main reason I choose LAT other than its great reputation was the fact that it is the only accredited educator out there and I feel that really sets it apart.

Which programme did you study?

I studied the 3-month course of Applied Finance and Trading. I was a blended student meaning I done half the course online and the other course in-house on the trading floor.

What was the programme like?

I found the programme great, the material within the course covered everything you needed to know about all aspects of trading.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

When leaving the course my goal was to trade my own money and show a consistent rate of return on my capital.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

The two main things I learned at LAT was the physiological aspects of trading and how your mind can affect your positions, good or bad. And the importance of setting your own trading rules when going off and trading independently. In the FX market where there are no rules to follow your own plan and not to deviate from this is most certainly one of the greatest aspects.

What are you doing now?

I work full time as a Sales Manager at FX Pro while also trading my own money.

How has LAT helped with your career development?

I was able to progress on from the course and obtain a job within the financial markets.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

I was able to progress on from the course and obtain a job within the financial markets.

Gary Wu

Portfolio Manager, Kylin Prime Group

Feb 2016

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

I would like to learn how to trade systematically and professionally. And LAT has a very good teaching methodology and let student to think independently and logically.

Which programme did you study?

Level 5 Diploma in Applied Financial Trading

What was the programme like?

Very good, focus both on financial theory and practice.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

To build a sustainable trading strategy and a good psychology.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

Beware of the market risk at all time, think and trade carefully with your fundamental and technical analysis. Strictly follow your trading rules.

What are you doing now?

I am a portfolio manager at Kylin Prime Group.

How has LAT helped with your career development?

Very much, the theories such as Risk Reward ratio, risk management, macroeconomics and technical analysis help me with my work.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

Recommend.

Juerg Furter

Head of Brokerage Hypoguide

March 2016

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

Accredited program in financial hub

Which programme did you study?

Level 5 Diploma

What was the programme like?

Perfect to me, but would have preferred to trade with the options and forwards as handled by the banks instead of FXCM/CFD but this is due to my knowledge in the bank area.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

Managing a portfolio by my own profitably.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

Risk Management 1:2 trades, 1% risk per trade, 2% per day, and 8% max draw down. Most important first and second indicators.

What are you doing now?

Head of a broker and Fintech Company

How has LAT helped with your career development?

Got offers to propose my trading strategy

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

Yes I would and I would even come myself again over to catch up and learn more

Sergi Martinez

Analytics Bloomberg

Jan 2016

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

Because it is the only official academy that offer an official certification once you pass the course. Also, because it is amazing the support you get from the mentors and the direct approach you have with senior traders that are happy to share their trading experience.

Which programme did you study?

I took Level 5 programme in Applied Financial Trading.

What was the programme like?

The programme was really complete, finding always the perfect balance between the theoretical parts of the course with the practical part.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

My goal was to have a better understanding of the financial markets, understand the move of currencies, learn from another method of analysis and get a job in the financial markets in London.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

The most important thing I would say is to be patience and follow my trading strategy regardless the movement of the currencies.

What are you doing now?

I'm currently working for Bloomberg in London

How has LAT helped with your career development?

It actually helped a lot, not only in terms of busting my CV but also on helping me to prepare for the interviews.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

I would definitely recommend LAT to a friend, it was a breaking point in my career.

James Bromley

Independent Proprietary Trader

Jan 2016

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

I had tried for around 12 months to learn Forex trading myself - learning from you tube videos and various blog posts. Struggled as everyone out there is trading different strategies and different time frames plus there is a hell of a lot of scammers out there. I needed to find somewhere I could learn face to face. Everyone seemed to be offering online courses - LAT offered a proper in house course. I arranged a visit to check them out. Sat in a class which was being taught and learnt a lot. Was very impressed and signed up that day.

Which programme did you study?

3 month in house level 5 diploma

What was the programme like?

Yeah I enjoyed it. I found it very informative. I spend the 3 months down in London - LAT set me up with accommodation. I met a lot of good people both students and lecturers alike and still keep in contact with a few of them now.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

I just wanted to be a full time trader - working for myself.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

I really feel LAT offers you a great insight into trading and gives you very strong foundations for you then to build on in your own way once you leave. LAT teaches you the main trading indicators. I also learnt about fundamentals regarding politics and economics too.

What are you doing now?

I'm a full time trader - working for myself.

How has LAT helped with your career development?

Once I left LAT I continued to work on different strategies. Until I found what worked for me. I have regular contact with LAT even now -they still help me out if I have any questions. Through LAT's contacts I have been working with an Asset Manager for the past three month

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

Yes 100%

Harry Ellis

Trader Private Equity & Investment Fund

July 2015

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

I chose LAT as it had the best recommendations on the internet, well that got me to the door. I booked in to have a look round the offices and meet the staff, see what atmosphere was like. I was sold after the meeting. My father had worked on trading floors for many years and told me this is where I need to be, there were so many different people on the floor all with different ways of trading, it was amazing to see. I sat down with the head of education at the time and he showed me the things I would be doing at the end of the course, it was incredible to see where I would be!

Which programme did you study?

I chose the 3 month in house course, however at the time I was working for my dad so I needed to tailor it slightly. I think out of the 12 weeks I attended 9 on site.

What was the programme like?

The course was fantastic! So enjoyable from start to end! From the minute you wake up you are in work mode, checking your account and the news that had been published overnight. It becomes an addiction but in a good way, you learn to live the markets and anything you were interested in before is thrown out the window and you find yourself talking about markets to anyone who will listen.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

The goal of the course was to come out with the best possible grade but more importantly it was to understand how to trade from a technical point of view. The ability to chart read goes way beyond FX trading and has opened up a lot of doors for me since.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

For me the most beneficial parts of the course were chart reading, chart analysis and funneling news from useful to useless. You end up reading pages and pages of news articles but to be able to process which is key and which isn't is so important when it comes to trading, you need to be quick with your decision and confident, and without the confidence you won't make the trade.

What are you doing now?

Since leaving LAT I have become head analyst at a private equity and investment fund based out in the UAE. I started off as an fx trader but have gradually moved onto overall analysis of all the investments.

How has LAT helped with your career development?

My time at LAT taught me to have a high level of due diligence before any trade was made, to have a work ethic higher than everyone, but also to have the confidence to make my own decisions based on the info in front of me. Without LAT I wouldn't be where I am now, the skills I have acquired are essential to what I do now.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

I have recommended LAT to a number of friends who have completed the course and gone on to have very god jobs in the city. By far the best course

Jacqueline O'Shea

Independent Proprietary Trader

June 2014

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

I chose LAT as it has accredited courses and you come out with recognised qualifications;
a lot of the courses on the market did not seem to be credible, so this was a big factor for me. I also liked that LAT provide a good balance between practical and theory and offered flexible study options.

Which programme did you study?

I did the three-month level 5 diploma programme

What was the programme like?

It was a really great programme, at the end of the course I felt armed with all the skills and knowledge to develop a comprehensive trading plan and ready to action everything I learned with a live account.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

I've always had an interest in investing and wanted to learn more about trading and the markets. I did the course out of interest, but enjoyed it more than anticipated and have been trading ever since.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

I gained a good understanding of what affects the market and how to read the market by using tools, indicators and economic data. Also, just as importantly, I leant risk management, how to devise a trading plan and trading psychology.

What are you doing now?

I'm trading and creating websites for family offices and trading firms. Both go hand in hand, and I have found my trading knowledge has assisted me in the development of websites, as I understand the target market and can develop trading content. Most importantly, I now can have a flexible career and be self-employed.

How has LAT helped with your career development?

LAT taught me the skills to be able to trade independently. I use to work in marketing full time but now have more flexibility to trade and be self-employed.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

Yes definitely, the staff and mentors are very knowledgeable and taught me a great deal. I learnt so much from this course and enjoyed been on the trading floor.

Eugene Murray

IT Contractor

READ MORE

Why did you select LAT?

I am an IT contractor. Basically a web developer and my last three projects have been in the investment banks. Before the course, I had zero knowledge of trading, economics, the markets etc.

Which programme did you study?

Level 5 on-line blended option.

What was the programme like?

I found it tough as it should be.

What were you aiming to achieve with this course?

Add to my CV and skill set so I can get more and better IT Contracts in Finance. Possibly trade myself and do something with my SIPP.

What have you learned during your time at LAT?

I know what FX is now! Plus I feel much more confident and familiar with the various types of economic data and I am happy to make investment decisions which I would never have done before. I have found it very hard to follow FX day in day and with keep up with the day job but the fact I am now actively managing my own SIPP is a very important long term goal of mine.

What are you doing now?

I am currently working on a Bond Trading app for Mizuho Bank getting ready for MiFID 2 in January. I have also started having a serious look at Algo Trading having spent the summer focusing on researching funds and ETFs etc for my long term investments.

How has LAT helped with your career development?

Yes I get contacted regularly about FX Trading projects, and other high quality Financial and FinTech projects all the time.

Would you recommend LAT to a friend?

Yes, it's time consuming part-time but no pain no gain. I went from no knowledge to being pretty confident and knowledgeable. Everyday should be onwards and upwards and the LAT course certainly fits in with that philosophy.

What our students say

Joining LAT has changed my trading psychology and understanding of the markets much more than I ever did prior to joining the course.

Jeyson Ng
Level 5 Diploma
Press enter or esc to cancel